Strategy Groups

Funding Strategy Group (FSG)

Members (2024):

  • Professor Bismark Tyobeka — (Group Chairperson and Vice-Chancellor & Principal), North-West University
  • Professor Thoko Mayekiso — University of Mpumalanga
  • Professor Stan du Plessis — Stellenbosch University
  • Ms Elmarie de Beer — North-West University
  • Professor Gerald Ouma — University of Pretoria
  • Ms Nolwazi Mamorare — University of Johannesburg
  • Dr Thelma Louw — University of South Africa
  • Dr Phethiwe Matutu — Universities SA (ex officio member)

Priority focus areas for 2024

  • Review of the long-term financial sustainability of the higher education sector considering income streams and efficiencies;
    • Sustainable financial support for students;
    • Funding for student accommodation and other university infrastructure;
    • Inequalities in the system.
  • Shared services platform for the broader university sector.


Professor Bismark Tyobeka
Vice-Chancellor and Principal:
North-West University


Ms Felicity Kokose
Manager: Sector Support