A R3,4 million grant allocated to bolster doctoral training for SA universities

Published On: 14 March 2019|

Through a partnership with the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), the British Council has announced R3,4m funding to 20 higher education partnerships focused on doctoral training. The partnerships involve 22 South African public universities (including Universities of Technology) and 19 universities from the United Kingdom.

Institutions must note that this announcement is for information-sharing only. It is not an open call for applications in any way. Through previous collective and bilateral engagements, interest was already expressed by both SA institutions and prospective counterparts in the UK. As soon as institutions are firmly paired and consortia are formed, another announcement and update will be made on this and other platforms.

In addition to the institutions listed in the attached media release, other South African universities identified for participation in the UK/SA partnership are: the Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Central University of Technology, Mangosuthu University of Technology, Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University, Stellenbosch University, Tshwane University of Technology, University of Cape Town, University of Fort Hare, University of KwaZulu-Natal, University of Limpopo, University of the Western Cape, University of the Witwatersrand, University of Venda, University of Zululand and the Walter Sisulu University.

Read more…